Last week, after almost 4 years of marriage, the dreadfully charming Mr. Right and I stood before a judge in Seattle District Court after listening to small-claims-“this woman harrassed me”-hell for over an hour (but that’s a whole ‘nother story) and had our names officially changed. I tacked on his last name as my last name and he took my last name as his second middle name. Hm, that’s confusing. To make things clear, now our names are something like this:

Dreadfully Charming Mr. Right becomes: Dreadfully Charming Cawrse Right
Janna Marie Cawrse becomes: Janna Marie Cawrse Right
And kiddo is: Bungleofjoy Cawrse Right

It’s an unusual solution to a humdinger dilemma. And we’re still trying to figure out the details.

On the bright side, here’s what I love about our new names:
1) our family shares a common name
2) better yet, our family shares 2 common names
3) we each made a change to make this happen

But do we have to call every bank, company, organization, doctor, and agency ad nauseum and officially change our names with them? Sounds like a pain in the patutti. Any advice out there for this herculean task?

And my head is still whirling a bit with the thought of becoming the abbreviated Ms. Janna Right (which is what already shows up on some of our bills since I’ve been trying on my new last name for a while now and I’ve learned that middle names don’t seem to count much with Seattle Public Utilities, the phone company, and interest-free loan offers. Hmm…)

If there’s anyone out there who’s made this name transition with grace, please let me know, because I think I could use a little grace right about now. Especially from someone who is hung up like I am on the whole social-political-theoretical-historical-women-as-chattel stuff…but who, at the same time, genuinely wants to share a common name with her family.

Does it just take some time to get used to? And, what about using different names in different contexts? Jeez, I’ve got four of ’em now, so can I just mix and match middles and lasts and pen names and business names and social names and such?

So, as is typical with me, the questions swirl. But did I mention that I simply couldn’t stop grinning as the judge pronounced us Right and Right?

Janna, aka Happily Even After, 35, Seattle