Anna, West Yorkshire, UK


Currently,I live in Pontefract, West Yorkshire.

Wikepdia has a few things to say about Pontefract, such as it is one of the five towns in the borough of Wakefield and has a population of approximately 30,000. Pontefract’s motto is Post mortem patris pro filio, Latin for “After the death of the father, support the son”, a reference to Civil War Royalist sympathies. Our castle was built in 1070, Richard II was murdered there in the 1400’s & it’s still standing today, though in ruins. It’s still a market town & used to grow liquorice. The Haribo factory is located here, though the liquorice is now grown elsewhere. There’s an old hermitage underneath our hospital, though I haven’t as yet been down into it. Harold Shipman also used to work there. We’ve got a race course & again I’ve not yet been to a race meeting, though walk around it regularly with my children.

On the walls of the underground magazine of Pontefract Castle. 30 prisoners were kept down there in the Civil War (1640 something) & they scratched their names on the walls.

Anna, 39, West Yorkshire, England

Advertisements

Keep reminding yourself of these points:

This too shall pass – advice from my dad & he’s right.

They will sleep through the night eventually, you will not be sleep-deprived for the rest of your life, even though it feels like it.

Accept all offers of help.

Find babysitters & get out every so often. You don’t have to be a parent 24/7 (I should take my own advice here!)

No-one else’s baby is as cute as yours. Fact 🙂

Don’t take it personally when your home-cooked, organic, delicious meal is declared to be “yuck”

A change of scene is as good as a rest. Get out & about. It’s much more pleasant to have a cup of tea in a busy cafe, than to be sat at home, surrounded by toys & housework that needs doing.

Apparently, the housework can wait as they grow up so fast & you can’t get these years back (I do appear to be taking that one onboard!)

Anna, 39, West Yorkshire, UK

Lolly Girls iii)

It struck me a couple of weeks back, that I’m going to be 40 next year! 40! OMG! The Big Four Oh!!! I am so old!!!

I’m still 38 for a few more days as it’s my birthday in 3 weeks time. There are so many things I wanted to do in my 30s & time is running out. I have 13 months to list them all & start actually doing them too.  I only have 13 months left being a part of this community.

I have a rare couple of hours to myself as my 2 year old is at pre-school. I had planned to go for a walk, but it’s dull & a bit cold today, so I’m sat at home with a cup of tea just pondering. It’s well needed & I need to take time out regularly, but very rarely do. I’ll be off back downstairs shortly to write lists, organise the household & make plans. That’s what mothers do best now isn’t it?  Keep things running smoothly & make sure everyone is in the right place at the right time?

Anna, 38, West Yorkshire, UK

best mum,
It’s Mothers Day in the UK & I have been mostly spoiled. The day started far too early at 5am though as DH had fogotten to pull down the black out blind in our daughters’ bedroom, so they got up when the sun did :/ I had a cup of tea & breakfast in bed, chocolates, a home-made card & a beautiful pendant that my 5 year old made at school for me. We all went bowling this afternoon & DH cooked a big roast dinner in the evening. Now, I could just do with a bit more sleep & life would be perfect 🙂

PS If this photo doesn’t post, can someone help me out? Thanks

Anna, 38, West Yorkshire, England

I’m a stay at home mother to Kate, aged 5 & Holly, aged 2. Plus a wife, lover & best friend to Andy, aged 44. Today was a fairly typical week day. Andy went off to work on the train at some ungodly hour & the rest of us surfaced at 6.30 am. We played, breakfasted, sorted the school packed lunch & went on the school run. Holly & I then went into town to buy some ariel as Kate’s school shirts seem to get dirtier, not cleaner, the more I wash them. I try & do right by the planet by using ecover non-bio, but it just doesn’t cut the mustard with grass & paint stains. Holly found this all to be rather tedious & fell asleep in her buggy. I celebrated my freedom by buying 3 books in the charity shop & reading about Liz Hurley’s wedding in OK (or was it Hello?) magazine in my favourite cafe, along with a cup of tea. Bliss 🙂

So, that was my morning in my present life. Previously, I was a banker in Jersey in the Channel Islands & thought that I was busy, busy, busy. I knew nothing about what busy really means before I had children!

Now, I live with my family & Connie the cat in a terraced house in West Yorkshire, England. Potentially, I have more time, but I also get less sleep & relaxation, so have less energy.

Anna, 38, West Yorkshire, England