I am cleaning my house to within and inch of my its life again. Before anyone diagnoses me as obsessive compulsive let me explain. My house has been on the market since the beginning of September. When hubby monster and I got the news that he had orders to leave Colorado Springs I went on a tear through the house. I went room by room for almost 2 weeks and purged anything that was worn out, out grown or otherwise unnecessary. This is always painful for me because I am a pack rat by nature. But it was done.Then our real estate agent sent over a stager. You know-one of the experts that come through your house and de-clutter it. So we took down just about anything that would make our house look homey and hid it all away. Then we waited…And waited…And waited…

After three glorious months of cleaning the house like fools and turning the monsters into little neurotic messes we had 6 showings. Total. That’s it. I think of those showings 2 people were interested and 4 agents were using us as price comparison. Insert tears and angry stomping, yelling and other signs of a tantrum here.

In December our contract expired. Our agent wanted us to pull our house off the MLS for 31 days and then relist with a lower price. Weeelllll, that’s great. So I talked to some friends at church that recommended I talk to a member/friend that was an agent. I didn’t know that he was an agent!?!?!

As life would have it I spoke with him. He was brutally honest. No smoke, no mirrors. Just the brutally honest truth of today’s real estate market. We were priced way to high. That’s it. A pricing problem. It seems that some agents will pull people in with the promise of a high listing price and then the price drop starts. I really wish I could say that this is not what happened in our case but….

So I spent yesterday changing some things around the house that our new agent asked me to (more de-cluttering, more hole filling, more touch up paint) and today cleaning again so that we can take more listing pictures again. YAY!

Dee, Colorado Springs, USA 

