Who am I? I love writing these kinds of things because it gives me a chance to look back and appreciate who I am and where I come from!

I grew up in a little town in Virginia. The Appalachian mountains. Heart of the New River Valley. The Blue Ridge. It’s a beautiful place. My grandparents owned a small farm where they raised beef cattle and pigs. They had a huge vegetable garden where they grew cabbage, beets, carrots, radishes, potatoes, squash, tomatoes, beans (green, pinto, butter), dill, and my very favorite the front 2 rows of strawberries. They were probably the last of a dying breed then because there was absolutely no waste. If it couldn’t be used right away it was pickled, canned, dried or smoked! It sounds like a bit of an idyll but it was a great way to grow up.

High School was pretty much the nightmare that anyone can recite. Awkward, trying to fit in and see where you belong. Most of the memories I have from that time involve a soundtrack from the eighties. Duran Duran, OMD, the Police, etc.

I went on to Virginia Tech for college. I love that place. Peaceful, beautiful, green, again idyllic. Graduated with a degree in Liberal Arts (would you like fries with your order?) and started teaching. I discovered that while I had the knowledge and the ability to advocate for the children I really had a hard time actually teaching them! But it was a great experience!

Then….hold on to your hats….I married my high school sweetheart. He had gone off to military school and when he graduated took a commission in the US Air Force. So we were off on a whirlwind tour of all the vacation spots of the US: Vandenberg AFB, (central coast of) CA; Minot AFB, ND (don’t get me started on that); Holloman AFB, NM; Peterson AFB, Colorado Springs, CO; and now we are soon to be at Macdill AFB, Tampa, FL. I have learned something new about myself at each one of these places. Expanded my skills, learned to bloom where I’m planted, and made so many friends of people I never would have met otherwise.

I am a momma of 2 beautiful monsters (boy and girl) whose sole purpose in life is to drive one another bonkers. I am an animal lover with 2 dogs and a cat. I love to knit. I am a Christian who enjoys and learns so much from the group of bloggers that I have found on line that range from Catholic to Muslim to atheist. I am a friend of Lois Wilson. I have learned that it doesn’t matter where you come from as long as we practice respect and love for all people.

My hope is to learn more from all of you and share my experience, strength, and hope with you!

Dee, Colorado Springs.

