It has been two weeks since I’ve posted and I honestly don’t have a reason except for laziness. Until this afternoon I thought I wouldn’t be posting for another week or so, but something struck me today and I feel the need to put it down while it’s fresh.

I was standing in the LONG line at the grocery store today and I just started thinking about the year that is coming to a close and reflecting. Reflecting about what I’ve decided has been the most stressful of my 38 1/2 years.

Here’s a recap:

January 2007 – Scott returns from Iraq. Scott’s birthday. Homecoming celebration/promotion/birthday party for Scott.

February 2007 – Scott’s on leave and home all day. Plans for overseas begin.

March 2007 – A pipe under the kitchen sink breaks and our house floods. R&R in Mexico. Visit the in-laws in Ohio over St. Patrick’s Day weekend.

April 2007 – Visit my family in Maryland over Dad’s birthday weekend. Scott sells his boat.

May 2007 – Scott left for Virginia for 8 weeks of school in Quantico, Va. Visit to Ob/Gyn regarding irregular menstrual cycles. Referred for Mammogram and Ultrasound. Ultrasound shows mass on left breast.

June 2007 – My birthday (alone because Scott is at school in Quantico). Poked and prodded by every breast surgeon in Eastern North Carolina – 3 Mammograms, 2 Ultrasounds, 1 MRI and countless referrals I’m off to Chapel Hill. Scott still doesn’t know. I elect not to tell him so he can stay focused on his schooling. We decided to sell our house rather than rent while we’re overseas. I put it on the market June 17th.

July 2007 – Chapel Hill, NC, 350 miles and 2.5 hours each way. After 3 visits I tell them that I’m running out of time. I’m supposed to be leaving the country. I’m tired of being poked and prodded and not knowing if I have cancer. They want to biopsy the mass. I refuse. I tell them that I want it out. After several very heated conversations they agree to remove the mass. I tell Scott. Surgery is scheduled for July 17th, Scott can’t come home. A girl from my office volunteers to take me. I gladly accept. On the way home from surgery I call home to tell my family that the surgery went well, I’m told my Grammy died that morning. Two days later, pathology results – benign! AMEN!

August 2007 – My last day of work is August 17th. House sells.

September 2007 – Movers pack our stuff in 3 separate shipments (storage, express and household goods). We say goodbye to our friends and leave NC heading for MD. I stop to use restroom at McDonald’s in Sneads Ferry, NC. I have on a SnowValley Farm Vineyard T-shirt. A woman and her daughter are staring at me. They ask if I’ve ever been to the vineyard. I say, “Yes, many times. It is just down the road from where my Grammy used to live.” They ask who my grammy is, I tell them, they know her! In SNEADS FERRY, NC I run in to someone from SOUTH HERO, VT who knows my Grammy! Scott and I spend a few days with my parents and they drive us to the airport. We leave for Belarus on September 11, 2007. Grammy’s funeral is September 15th, I miss it.

October 2007 – Adjusting to Belarus.

November 2007 – 20th class reunion which I’m not able to attend. Thanksgiving away from family and friends.

December 2007 – Christmas away from family and friends. Short, dark, sunshine-less days.

So, there you have it. The short version. Of course I only highlighted the stressful moments, there were a lot of good things in 2007 too! Jenn, 38, Belarus

