This will be a strange winter for me. I’m not sure I’m ready for all the changes. Of course, they’re my choices, but that doesn’t make them that much easier to bear.

For the last two and a half years, since my son was born, I’ve been a stay-at-home mom. Suddenly I’m going back to work. It’s only part-time, but it does require shifting my mindset, my schedule and my life.

At the same time, my son is entering Montessori school. We’ve always intended for him to start preschool sometime between age 2 and 3, but who knew that would be coming up so soon?

It’s because of his going to preschool that I started job-hunting. I figured I needed something to do while he was away from home. The very first job I seriously applied for turned out to be perfect. My son starts school the same week I start work. My job is a ten-minute commute away; I can set my own hours; my employers understand that my child is my priority. I couldn’t have asked for a better situation as a mom returning to work. It’s more than I could have reasonably hoped for.

But that’s not all. Then there’s the possibility of our moving this year–we’re putting our house on the market in March. Also, my sister’s moving to Switzerland just as she has gotten pregnant (I will agree here that Skype is a wonderful thing). It seems like at the end of 2008, my life is going to be completely different than it is now. Better, I hope. But I’m stressed out right now, anticipating all the problems and adjustments and guilt that might come.

Ernie from “Sesame Street” once sang, “Things are always changing, but don’t be sad and blue. Change can make you happy ’cause it brings you something new.” I hope he’s right. I know he’s right. I just have to get used to the new status quo, and that takes a little time.

