It’s a cold, snowy day here in Chicago today. As I look out the window, I think another couple of inches are going to hit us yet again. My car was pummeled last night and then thankfully, the warm garage at my gym was able to melt all of the snow off of the hood and the trunk (yes, I am not quite prepared yet for this weather!).

I came home from the gym, warmed up from yoga and ready to get on with today’s tasks at hand. I am producing a burlesque show in January, working on an Internet talk show debuting in January and various other creative projects.

I decided to take an hour or so out of my day and reach some friends and family that I haven’t spoken to in a while. Last night I purchased SKYPE pro. It is an amazing deal. For $3 a month, I can make telephone calls through my computer to anywhere in the US. I decided that my first call was to my grandmother. It was amazing. My voice was much clearer via Skype than it was when I called her recently through my cell phone.

We had the most wonderful conversation. She asked if I saw her house in the paper and I didn’t quite get what she meant. The house is going up for sale. It saddens me, as I am sure my uncles and mother probably have mixed feelings about it, but my grandmother at 86 can’t stay there alone. I have so many wonderful memories of visiting them out in New Jersey when I was a child through now that I can’t imagine the house really being gone from our family. It is honestly one of the only places that has been stable and there throughout my entire life.

She asked me if I wanted anything from the house, and I didn’t know what to say. My cousin is taking the needlepoint chairs that are in the living room which I think is wonderful and I am happy they are going to a good home. πŸ™‚ I asked my grandmother about the photos of her and Pop from their wedding.My grandfather was home for 2 days during the war and they threw together a wedding so fast in my great grandparent’s back yard. My grandmother was such a beautiful woman in her 20’s. Always so proper and 1940s glam. My grandfather was tall and handsome, wearing his Air Force Uniform as he married the love of his life.

My grandmother also asked me if I wanted the large needlepoint painting that is in the living room. It’s absolutely gorgeous and I immediately told her yes.

Towards the end of the conversation, my grandmother asked if anything else was going on, and I still haven’t quite come out to her (although I think she has a clue by now), but I did tell her that I was producing a burlesque show.”Do you know what that is Nana?” “Of course! I went to one once with Pop and Aunt Norma and Uncle Al in New York once. I didn’t care for it too much. The women weren’t very pretty.” I couldn’t help but chuckle, but that was like my grandmother, always shocking me with a story about something I would never, ever expect her to have done in her life.

Stacy Jill, 34, Chicago

