In my relentless efforts to locate more things on my skin to pick at, I happened upon a bump at the top of my foot, near the “Where I tie my running shoes” crease. Delving into that rigourously peer reviewed authority (Google/Wikipedia) on all things dermal, the diagnosis was narrowed down to a gangleon cyst. According to my PLR (Physician’s Laptop Reference), they are more common in females (that would be me), and tend to be prevalent between the ages of 20-60 (me, again). The little blighters are more casually referred to as “bible bumps”.

Historically, treatment involved whacking them with a heavy book to diffuse the cyst. obviously, back in ye olde days, the poorer folk were an illiterate bunch and had little use for hardback copies of “Moby Dick”, “War and Peace” or “Star Struck; A Novel by Pamela Anderson”. However, every household did possess a copy of the big book; handy for reciting scripture, propping doors open, and casting out demonic cysts. Perhaps my copy of “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows” would be sufficient. I am reassured in the knowledge that I have a number of people to call on who would be more than willing to smack me with a heavy object.

Fortunately, there is a non-violent/non-surgical treatment option that aligns with the philosophy I routinely ascribe to; “Leave it alone and it will eventually go away”.

Disa, 32, Louisville, USA

