When I was 30, I actually posted a profile on a recipe-exchange web site. Today, I found it.

I just thought I’d post it here so that I have something to remember those days by:

“I’m temporarily unemployed, so I’ve come home to live with my parents while my mother undergoes treatment for cancer. Meanwhile, I make dinner for my parents, my sister, her son and whomever else in our large and close-knit family cares to stop by. After living on my own for 12 years, the switch from cooking for one in an urban apartment to cooking for five in the midwestern countryside has been an adjustment … but I’m loving the challenge and finding new recipes to keep the troops happy.

“I’ve discovered canning this fall, having never done it before … and I’m loving it. Since I’m home all day I tinker around in the kitchen, using up the apples we have on a couple of trees around the farm and whatever else I can get my hands on. Apple sauce, apple butter, spiced apple rings, apple tomato salsa, apple-red pepper chutney, pear chutney, grape jam, apple- wild plum-grape jam, dilly beans and pickled carrots (kinda made that recipe up … have to wait and see how it turns out.) It’s been a great creative outlet and I’ve got a stockpile that looks decorative and welcoming in our hoosier cabinet and will make fantastic gifts this Christmas.”

So much has changed and so much has stayed the same … but that’s for another  post.

 This is Shelley, 35 and reminiscing in Iowa.

