I’m a bit stubborn about it. It’s probably my competitive nature or being a bit type A. My personality just doesn’t really like to fail. Maybe it’s from being the youngest child or from being the only girl with 2 older brothers… I don’t know. The last thing I committed to was the Oxfam 100km trailwalker – which arguably I wasn’t really ready for and didn’t train enough for. (I entered as substitute 4 weeks before the walk) I’m not a morning person but I did stair training at 6am before work and woke up at 4.30 am on weekends to go for training walks. I feel like it took over my life for 4 weeks, but you couldn’t say I wasn’t committed. I started the walk knowing that I was committed to finishing. It took us 44 hours and 7 minutes over muddy, rocky, hilly trails and I ruined 2 pairs of shoes and just about ruined a 3rd pair in the finish.

I don’t mean that I commit myself to many things – I really pick and choose what I commit to, but once I commit to something I really want to finish.

Oxfam Trailwalker finish

