the-girl-with-silver-eyes.jpg

I have been an avid reader from a very young age. I was kind of a geeky, chubby little kid and books were my escape from the mean boys in 2nd Grade, or the boring lectures in my 6th grade science class. I usually kept my favorite novel at the time, “The Girl With The Silver Eyes” inside my text book while Mr. Allen was going over our homework.

There have been many books which like songs hold memories about specific times in my life. One book in particular was the book by Pamela Des Barres, called “Im With the Band” which was given to me by my first boyfriend at 13 years old. Peter was a musician and this book was about the whirlwind life of a groupie in the 60s. It somewhat brought me closer to his 16 year old hippie self or so I thought! šŸ™‚

I tend to also find authors whom I love and stick with throughout their careers. I’m definitely a contemporary fiction/non-fiction lover and have enjoyed books and stories by authors such as Raymond Carver, Toni Morrisson, Chick-Lit Goddess – Jennifer Weiner, Michelle Tea, Ali Libegott, and of course J.K. Rowling

I can’t forget my comic books! My buddy Chynna Clugston has one of the best series for people who love comedy. Check out Blue Monday (Oni Press!). One of my favorite series recently ended: Strangers in Paradise by Terry Moore was one of the most insane stories that I have read in that medium. It was part mystery, part soap opera and the two main characters were lesbionics! I’m so sad that the series is no more, but I heard he will be putting his talents to great use in the world of Superheroes!

My last bit of books that I adore is the more recent literary genre of memoirs. I love reading about other people’s lives and despite the fact that some of it may be completely off the wall (ex David Sedaris), it makes me think that maybe my family isn’t as crazy as I think.

