Allen Carr

I had smoked since I was 14 years old – roughly a packet a week, more if I was drinking booze. That’s 20 years huffing and puffing away on the little bastards, in my car, frantically before getting on planes, in the pub (back in the UK), in the bath and even on occasion in bed. I knew it was killing me, I knew it made me smell, was a waste of money, and increasingly anti-social especially after moving to California where smoking is banned from most public places. I tried to quit cold turkey – and nearly killed myself and the people around me but managed to do it for a couple of weeks until a miserable break up with a boyfriend was back on the smokes. I would lie awake at night terrified about what I knew smoking was doing to me and yet I couldn’t stop.


Then a friend in the UK told me about a book called The Easy Way To Stop Smoking by Allen Carr. ‘This amazing book will stop you smoking’, he told me. ‘It worked for me, why wouldn’t it work for you?’ He had a point – I knew that he too had smoked for as long as I had and had as little success as I had going cold turkey. I brought the book and read the first couple of chapters. It was very strange but immediately I felt less like smoking. It freaked me out and the book lay in the boot of my car for another six months until my boyfriend insisted that I tried quitting again. Actually he blackmailed me – he refused to cut his hair or beard until I quit which actually had a reverse affect despite his increasing looking like Grizzly Adams, but I brought the book on audio CD and committed to listening to the book each day on the hour journey to and from work.

The ‘great’ thing about Allen Carr’s book was you didn’t actually have to stop smoking whilst you read the book, yet as I read it I found myself wanting to smoke less and less as the book de-brainwashes you from all the stupid things we kid ourselves as smokers.

I smoked my last cigarette on 24th November 2006 and I haven’t looked back since – there were no nicotine induced rages, I didn’t stuff my face with food instead, I didn’t crave one when drinking wine or coffee/tea, in fact I didn’t crave one at all. I even coped with stressful situations with out smoking. In short I don’t even think about smoking any more – it is as if I never smoked in the first place!

I was free at last!

Very sadly Allen Carr died four days after I gave up smoking. I shall always be grateful to him for setting me free from smoking and I shall do my part to spread the word about his amazingly easy way to give up smoking.

You can buy the book here or preview chapters from it on Google Books here or find a clinic to do the day course here.

Not Goth, 34, Redondo Beach, USA

