Cary Grant pictured here with the wonderful Doris Day.

 

“Everyone wants to be Cary Grant. Even I want to be Cary Grant.” – Cary Grant.

I have been slightly obsessed with Cary Grant for as long as I can remember – I have slept with a framed picture of him by my bedside for years!

Cary Grant was a talented actor with a wide range for his craft – from the slap stick of Bringing Up Baby with the wonderful Katherine Hepburn to the more sinister Hitchcock roles of later years. In fact Cary was a favorite actor of Hitchcock’s who was, notorious for disliking actors, he said of him; “the only actor I ever loved in my whole life”

But Cary was more than dashing good looks (that grew better with age) and charming smile, he was a kind person, devoted father and the rumoured inspiration for the character James Bond! He changed the way movies are made – modern actors have a lot to thank him for -as he was the first actor to “go independent,” effectively bucking the old studio system where actors were signed to a particular studio for a number of years, allowing them to almost completely control what an actor could or could not do.

A couple of years ago I started a Cary Grant group on the photo sharing web site flick.com – which shows Cary Grant is still as popular today as he was in his hayday.

Not Goth, 34, Redondo Beach

