Falls Park

Originally uploaded by 4ever30something.

It has been some time since I’ve posted, but I thought I would add something to the posting challenges 🙂

I live in southeastern South Dakota. I was also born and raised in northeastern South Dakota.

Living in the midwest has many advantages (LOTS of wide open space and beautiful sunsets) and disadvantages (culturally insulated). Luckily I lived in both northern and southern Illinois for over 10 years then moved back to South Dakota over 2 years ago, so I’ve had some outside perspective.

This photo shows beautiful sky and natural beauty that we have everywhere here in Sioux Falls. We’re also close enough to “the big city” (Minneapolis/St. Paul, MN area) to have some cultural influences that offer beautiful artistic opportunities. The city tries to be culturally diverse, but its difficult when 96% of the population is white (I would imagine Canadians don’t count for cultural diversity? hehe).

With a population of about 150,000 people, Sioux Falls is the largest city in the state (yes you read that correctly). I always laugh when I think of the fact that the entire state population could fit into one Chicago suburb! Though less open-minded than other areas I’ve lived in, Sioux Falls has warm friendly people who would never think twice before stopping at the side of the road to help a stranger.

Also, though this may be the same elsewhere, Saturday’s are “come meet at the Wal-Mart” days, Sundays are church days (South Dakota has one of the highest per capita Catholic populations in the country), and a hard day’s work still means something significant.

