Responding to Erica, over in London…

I have to admit I am not the most disciplined of individuals, so I do tend to splurge and buy things I don’t need. I live in an area of very conspicuous consumers, and our home is less expensive than the 25 percent of your income or whatever they say is reasonable now for mortgage payments. So we have more spending money than many, perhaps. My husband’s big weakness is Best Buy; mine is Barnes & Noble. I buy books for both myself and my two-year-old son. I like to shop for clothing, and toys, and accessories, and Sephora makes quite a bit of money off my imperfections.

Maybe it’s because my husband spends his dough on electronics, but I will almost never buy gadgets, electronics, CDs or DVDs–much as I love them. Back before I was married I spent more money on video games, video game systems, PDAs, computers, CDs, movies, and was proud to be an early adopter of all kinds of technologies. I was a Windows 95 beta-tester, thanks to my company. I still have a Palm Pilot that’s, by today’s standards, old and clunky and has dog bite-marks on it. I have a PowerBook laptop from 1993. Today I have a phone my husband gave me for Christmas, a camera my husband gave me for my birthday (and the screen’s already cracked!) and a laptop my husband stopped using when it broke (we had it fixed). And I figure I might as well not buy movies or music, since chances are he already bought it. DVD boxed sets seem like such an expensive luxury–and it’s not like I don’t have more than enough to watch already. At least with clothes I can rationalize that I need them for something…toys help my son’s development…lotions and bath things and skin clarifiers enhance my appearance and my married life…right.

Gosh, my life seems pretty materialistic when laid out like this. I am a Taurus, after all, and though I don’t take much stock in horoscopes we supposedly love our creature comforts. I swear I’m not really shallow, though I am trapped in what appears to be a conventional middle-class life.

