Since choosing the theme for this ‘week’ as Advice I have not been able to think of one piece of advice in my life that I have been given or indeed have given that stands out. Oh the irony. Perhaps my advice (to myself) should be think of something to post on that theme, before throwing out the gauntlet to the rest of the Thirty Voices ladies!

However today I was reminded that the best advice really comes from yourself to yourself. Simply because you are more likely to actually pay attention to it. I have lost track how many times I have spent hours giving friends perfectly good advice that they have asked me for, for them to completely ignore me and do whatever the hell they wanted to anyway! As childish as it is, that pisses me off. It shouldn’t I know, but it does and it has.

Therefore the best advice I have to offer, is if you are looking for advice with a problem, take some time out to be alone and really think about the problem at hand, and what is the best course of action for yourself. Then ignore that and go ask 20 people.

Not Goth, 34, Redondo Beach, CA.

