Is there really such a thing as the “glass ceiling” or the “boys club”?

This is something I’ve struggled with my entire career. I’d always believed that it didn’t matter and that anyone, male or female, that did the right thing always got ahead. I wouldn’t call it naive, but I’ve always been an optimist. I can’t really say I was “anti-feminist” but I didn’t see the benefit in being a “feminist”. But now I’m not so sure…I think I’ve been banging my head on the glass ceiling for the last few years and I don’t think I can pull out a sledgehammer and break it to pieces on my own…

Women are often embarrassed to admit that support networks are helpful in building their careers. I think that maybe if we called it “secret girls’ clubs” instead of “support networks” and did it the way that the men do it, at golf clubs, over a scotch and a cigar, or whatever, it would be different. Would that help to further our careers? Isn’t what men do essentially their version of “support networks”?

But… if we tried to do things like the way men did them, we wouldn’t be celebrating the fact that we are women and we do things our own way…

Melissa, 35, Sydney

