Sister Spit Ladies

Last night, my friend Lori and I headed to one of the BEST bookstores in Chicago called Women and Children First. WCF has been around for over 25+ years and is one of the last of a dying breed (the indie feminist bookstore).
We usually head in there, but tonight was for a special event, Sister Spit, The Next Generation – from the sister spit website:
Sister Spit: The Next Generation is a national tour pairing five brand-new, twenty-something queer female/ish writers with original Sister Spit roadsters and award-winning writers Ali Liebegott and Michelle Tea. Based on the orginal Sister Spit Ramblin’ Roadshow of the late 90s, Sister Spit: The Next Generation hits the road in Fall 2006, nearly a decade after the first Spit van set sail, reviving the rowdy, raucous literary adventure with a mixture of fresh faces and seasoned roaddogs!
The event was filled with tons of queer people and our straight friends. It was a mixture between 20-30 somethings crammed into the bookstore to hear the prose of these women ranging from new writers, to vets like Ali and Michelle to famed Poet, Eileen Myles
It was a night filled of wonderful prose and afterwards, I saw some friends and met some new people as well. Events like this always inspire me to get off my ass and start writing again. One of my goals for myself over the next year is to actually finish some of these essays I have been borching about for a couple years. 🙂
Stacy Jill, 33, Chicago

