For the first time in over ten years, I have no internet access at work. Yes, I am bolding that sucker because as many of my good friends know, I am a webgrrl, inside and out. Most of my adult life has revolved around producing content for dot-coms and my latest gig is nowhere near that world. My computer at work has EVERYTHING blocked except for our company website.

It has felt bizarre feeling “cut off” from the rest of the world for 8-10 hours a day, however, as I sit here tonight, I am trying to figure out why I felt the need to be connected 24-7?

Was it because I thought I would miss important emails?
Well, many of my emails these days only come in spurts from friends. and I would even say about 90% of the emails that I receive on a daily basis are mailing list subscriptions.

Was it because I thought I would I would miss out on important conversations on Instant Messaging?

To be honest, the hundreds of people on my instant messaging lists are friends from yesteryears or old work buddies. I can honestly say that I chat with maybe 5-6 people on a regular basis.

All it has shown me truly is that I have distracted myself for hours and hours and hours online, and that by taking myself offline, I have found that I don’t need it as much as I used to. Wow. This definitely sounds like addiction, right? 🙂

Unplugged

Stacy Jill, 33, Chicago

