Dyhram park

 

This royal throne of kings, this scepter’d isle,

This earth of majesty, this seat of Mars,

This other Eden, demi-paradise,

This fortress built by Nature for herself

Against infection and the hand of war,

This happy breed of men, this little world,

This precious stone set in the silver sea,

Which serves it in the office of a wall,

Or as a moat defensive to a house,

Against the envy of less happier lands,

This blessed plot, this earth, this realm, this England,

This nurse, this teeming womb of royal kings,

Fear’d by their breed and famous by their birth

 

John of Gaunt, Richard II,i,42-54

Some days I get really home sick for England, not just the family and friends that I left there but the strange comfort I find in everyday British things like red post boxes, Radio Four, roast dinners, the constant rain, cups of tea, Wellington boots, BBC 1. My view of Britain is very rose tinted I know but that’s fine, I like it that way without Page 3 boobs from The Sun newspaper – or worse, the right-wing. immigrant-hating Daily Mail ruining it.

I think homesickness always gets worse around holidays – but I am ashamed to admit its mostly for food and days off. Friends and family back in the UK will be enjoying a long four day weekend – no work on Good Friday or Easter Monday whilst I sit at my desk at work daydreaming of Smarties Easter Eggs and watching series 2 of Life On Mars.

It’s not all bad – I do after all have BBC America, if you don’t mind watching everything a year later than everyone else back ‘home’. And thanks to youtube.com I can still catch bits of shows I miss when some thoughtful person violates someone else’s copyright and uploads it! ha. Thankfully in Los Angeles there are several British shops where you can buy imported but overpriced cans of baked beans ($1.99) and a tube of smarties ($1.69 – what happened to the tube?) enough to quench my homesickness till next month… yes, my homesickness always coincides with that time of the month!

Not Goth, 33, Redondo Beach, California.

