Up until a couple of weeks ago, I was on the dole (unemployment) :). I have been unemployed before, but never for this amount of time. It took me six months of trying every which way to get a position. I had some pretty crazy interviews. Some positions that I thought were in the bag were complete puffs of smoke, other interviews offended me so much that I scrapped off all communication despite the fact I may have had an offer. I have a pretty crazy background and I have a feeling that most companies didn’t quite know what to do with me.

However, this crazy stretch of time is now behind me as I can happily report that I am now gainfully employed. The company I am working for is well recognized and has been acknowledged for being one of the best places to work in the country. My role is something that I would never, ever, envisiion for myself, but I actually like it so far! The people are really nice and its a job that I’ll be able to go in, kick some ass, and then come home and enjoy life. This may be a good change of pace for me.

Some of my friends have noted that my mood has changed over the past couple of weeks and I can completely agree with them. Having a place to go every day does something good to your psyche. It’s a sense of purpose and I truly believe that I am the type of person that can get more out of life when I am busier.

Stacy Jill, 33, Chicago

