From the ferry

I moved to Sydney 7 years ago, a transplant from Detroit. I find myself still here after signing up for a 2 year secondment, then extending for one year, then another, then another… I guess there was something about the place that kept me here.

When I turned 35 last year, I thought about how I never imagined this is where I would be at 35. Not physically I mean, I guess I imagined I wouldn’t be in the US by now, but I guess I thought I’d feel older. It’s not a bad thing to not feel 35 but there were so many things I thought I would have done by now, but I have actually done different things, maybe more things. I thought I would have visited all the continents by now- I’ve been to North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Australia so I guess I’ve hit many of them. Or that I might own my own business, or have learned to fly a plane or have learned to speak Italian or a number of other things… I also dreamed I might retire before 40, get my black belt by 40… well, I guess a lot can happen in the next 5 years?

Melissa, 35, Sydney Australia

