Today is my 33rd birthday.

It’s been a good year. Since my last birthday, I quit my job, sold most of my stuff and moved across the country to Seattle. I’ve met some wonderful new friends, I started dating post-divorce and now find myself with a great boyfriend. I’m writing for myself, not just for my job. And most importantly, I’m happy.

Sure, there are a few things I’d like to change. I’d like to work out more, eat better. Perhaps drink less. (Perhaps).  All in due time.

A few years ago, I stumbled upon this site, http://www.futureme.org  You can e-mail your Future Self an e-mail. I’ve done it for the past two New Year’s (to be read the following year), and I’m thinking about compiling one to read on my 40th birthday.

I know that’s seven years off, but I wonder where I’ll be. Will I be married again? Kids? Will I be in Seattle? Will I remember everything that happened the year I was 32?

Seven years ago I was 26. I barely remember myself then. I would love to open up an e-mail today from that Past Self.

In the meantime, I guess I’m not all that grown up. I have my first kickball game of the season tonight!

Lola, 33, Seattle

